The Tie Countdown

Perhaps because I’m absurdly idealistic, I’m attempting to collect originals of all 14 ties associated with David Tennant’s time as the Doctor. I expect this project to take many years and a lot of money, but I’m excited for the undertaking.

I know that some of these ties will be practically impossible – I’ve only heard of two Lacroix ties ever (one used in production and one owned by a very lucky collector), only three or four of the Nina Ricci ties (all of which, to my knowledge, are still owned by the BBC and are used on displays), and only two or three of the Kenzos (all used in production with current whereabouts unknown or undisclosed). I’ve only heard of one Nash popping up on eBay ever and never heard of a Hechter showing up anywhere except Bonhams (and even that one was altered for use in a stunt).

At any rate, if anybody reading this has any duplicate original ties (not replicas, such as Magnoli, as much as I admire their work) that they are willing to part with or are interested in selling, please reach out to me! I know how valuable and sought-after these ties are so I’m willing to offer reasonably substantial rates for them.

The checklist so far:

David Tennant Visual Tie Index checklist

Also, if anyone has any leads on the two as-yet-unidentified ties (any information which is requested to be kept confidential can certainly be guaranteed to be kept confidential), I’d love that information too.

Let the hunting continue!

About Alex

Alex is a writer, actor, tailor, and professionally unemployed loudmouth with no chill. He has no professional or celebrity endorsements, though he did once meet Conan O'Brien while dressed as the Tenth Doctor. He's just a guy who needs a healthy outlet for his internalized rage and despair once in a while.
This entry was posted in Tenth Doctor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tie Countdown

  1. Aaron says:

    When you go looking for these ties what sort of methods do you use, cause I can’t imagine you just google “Armani Tie” every once in awhile?

Leave a Reply

