St. George by Duffer – Check!

d11-9q-132One of the few Tennant ties I see pop up on eBay with any regularity is the St. George by Duffer worn by David Tennant in the three-part arc Utopia/The Sound of Drums/The Last of the Time Lords (you may remember the stories as that one with The Master as Prime Minister Harold Saxon (VOTE SAXON!), where he makes David Tennant REALLY old). The tie is particularly prominent in the story because Old!Tennant wears his jacket unbuttoned throughout The Last of the Time Lords, allowing it to be seen in full for large portions of the episode.

A while ago, an auction came up for one on eBay, and when I tried to snipe it I found I was barred from auctioning because I live in the United States. Upset (but not too upset because it went for more than my high bid anyway), I brainstormed what to do when the same seller popped up with a second tie of the same type.

I eventually decided to ask a UK-based friend of mine who I was currently making a scarf for if he would bid for me, and I would pay him back if he won. Being quite broke, I didn’t have a very hefty high bid, but to my surprise, he said that he would kick in a few extra pounds at no charge if he were to win! And to even more of my surprise, HE WON!

georgeduffer

Today I received the tie in the mail (which he ended up picking up the FULL tab for, at his own suggestion!) along with some yarn for another scarf, and I couldn’t be more thrilled with it.

DSCN3091

The silk is really nice to the touch and, unlike the Rocha tie, I don’t feel like I’m going to damage it if I pull it too hard. The background is a two-toned weave (as, it seems, many of the Tennant ties are) of a dark chocolate brown and a light, saturated golden brown. The flowers are a jacquard weave in a lovely combination of colors and the tie has a nice thickness to it.

It’s very odd because in some lightings, the tie looks almost the same shade of brown as the suit, but in others, the lighter brown overpowers the darker brown and it looks very red-brown.

I decided to take a few shots of me in the tie, as it’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to wear my suit.

 DSCN3114editDSCN3117edit

I’m very excited to add this tie to my collection and mark another box off my checklist. Of course, now it gets difficult, because I now have all the ties that have really ever popped up on eBay (a Nash has, once, and rumor has it the Dutti from The Doctor’s Daughter popped up and sold for $6 once). Now it will be about really hunting in the less-populated areas and digging deep. I have a few ideas already, so I’ll be keeping my head down and my eyes open. 😉

(Click image for high res)

Tie 10 scancrop

About Alex

Alex is a writer, actor, tailor, and professional loudmouth. He has no professional or celebrity endorsements, though he did once meet Conan O'Brien while dressed as the Tenth Doctor. He's just a guy who needs a healthy outlet for his internalized rage once in a while.
This entry was posted in Tenth Doctor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to St. George by Duffer – Check!

  1. Pingback: Review – The NEW Magnoli Utopia Tie | The Ginger Doctor

  2. Jason Aud says:

    I was just able to pick one of these up on e-bay…for $4.52! I take a look every once in awhile for the ties and was actually doing a Duffer search for a decent deal on the 50th tie when I came across an authentic one and quickly went for the “Buy it Now” button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

